My Confident Hope

Living Life Wide Open

Dear, dear Corinthians, I can’t tell you how much I long for you to enter this wide-open, spacious life. We didn’t fence you in. The smallness you feel comes from within you. Your lives aren’t small, but you’re living them in a small way. I’m speaking as plainly as I can and with great affection. Open up your lives. Live openly and expansively!

This passage of Scripture comes from 2 Corinthians 6:11-13 of the Message Bible. I like this particular translation because it tells us live openly and expansively or in other words, wide open. Our youth pastor shared this verse with us a few weeks ago and it has stuck with me. What does it really mean to live life wide open?

I guess you can say that I have been wide open since the day I was born! (My mother will probably tell you before I was born!) That hasn’t always been a good thing. It has gotten me in quite a bit of trouble through the years. Yeah, I was the kid that when everybody else stopped talking because the teacher had walked in the room kept right on talking and guess who got in trouble. When I played sports growing up,  I was wide open. One year, I put a big hole in the knee of my brand new uniform sliding into 2nd base and more than likely I didn’t even need to slide but it looked so much better to slide than it did to just run. I used to get teased that they didn’t need to sweep the gym floor after my basketball games because I had already done it for them! I guess though that as time went on and life became more complicated I became less wide open. We get boxed in by our failures, problems, insecurities, and loads of other stuff that God never intended us to get boxed in by. I created the small feeling that I felt. We have all felt insignificant at times, but I think those times are when we are focused on ourselves and not on God.  I believe that if we could truly grasp the power of God that is at work in our lives, then we would not want to be boxed in, but live a life that is wide open for God. How many of us truly worship God wide open? If I have to be honest, most of the time I am trying harder to maintain what I think is my dignity than I am about worshiping God wide open.

I am tired of living a Christian life that is boxed in. I want to live and worship God wide open! After all, what better example of living life wide open do we have than Jesus Christ Himself. When He died on the cross, His arms were wide open, accepting all of us into His Kingdom forever.

One response

  1. Kathy Wall

    That was beautiful . Thank you

    April 8, 2008 at 1:06 am

Leave a Reply

