My Confident Hope

Amazed

I have noticed over the past little while that certain words find their way into many of the songs that we sing. The first word that that caught my attention was the word Amazed. One of our favorite songs in choir right now is simply titled “Amazed” by Lincoln Brewster. The chorus goes “Lord I’m amazed by You and how You love me.” How many of our songs have the word amazing in it. How about “I stand amazed in the presence of Jesus the Nazarene.” “Amazing Grace how sweet the sound.” “Amazing Love how can it be that You my King should die for me”.We sing these songs Sunday after Sunday but do we really grasp the concept of being amazed. To be amazed means to be filled with wonder. Are we really filled with wonder about how He loves us, or the grace that He showed to us? Are we filled with wonder when we enter the presence of God? There may be moments in our lives that we truly do, but I think we have let so many other things pull at our hearts, that we truly forget to be amazed. I am not even sure we can grasp this with our human mind. Does amazing really describe God’s grace or how he loves us? Probably not, but it is the only word that man has been able to come up to describe it. If we were truly amazed, then it would transform our churches, our lives, our relationships, etc. As I looked at our congregation this morning while the choir sang “Amazing Love”, what I saw was not amazement but boredom. I believe that even as Christians we have become so complacent, not only are we not amazed, we are not even stirred. How is it that we can talk about the grace and the love of God that was so supremely displayed in Christ’s death on the cross and not even shed a tear? Is it because for most of us, we have grown up in church and heard it all our lives so that it becomes ordinary? I pray that the grace and love of God never becomes ordinary in my life. I pray that I am moved and amazed by His grace and not take for granted. I pray that the cross and the work that was done on the cross will never cease to move my heart. And when I sing”Lord I’m amazed by You”, it is an amazement that is life changing.

One response

  1. Lynda Drawdy

    Good Job, Angle!!!!! Don’t ever lose your AMAZEMENT!!!

    April 14, 2008 at 7:11 pm

Leave a Reply

