My Confident Hope

You know you’re a Redneck……….

I have lived in the South all my life, but when I landed in South Georgia about 7 years ago, I was in for a culture shock. You cannot truly grasp what a redneck is until you have lived in South Georgia. They proudly wave their Confederate flags, showing their true ignorance as to why we even had a Civil War in the first place. I happened upon a parade a few months back in the town where I lived, where people were dressed in the attire of the Civil War time period, with lots of trucks, and confederate flags. I had to laugh and say “Only in South Georgia”. Don’t get me wrong, I am proud to be from the South, but come on, not everyone from the South has to be a redneck! Another thing, not all Southerners are ignorant, the way Hollywood portrays them. It cracks me up every time someone tries to imitate an Southern accent. Either you have it or you don’t and if you don’t, then don’t try to imitate it! I have to admit that my accent has gotten much more southern since being down here, much to my dismay. According to my friends, anybody that is from north of Atlanta is not a southerner.

Another thing that cracked me up when I moved down here was the drive thru liquor stores. I mean seriously, do you go up and order a six pack like you would a Big Mac? Could we please make it any easier for drunk people to be on the road!

Last night I was at a friends house and I opened her freezer to put something in it, and looking me right square in the eye was a duck….a real, once upon a time alive ,mallard duck, and it was wrapped in panty hose. Her fiance had it in there because he plans to have it mounted. You never know what you are going to find in someone’s freezer or refrigerator in South Georgia.

Leave a Reply

