My Confident Hope

Encounters with God

I was in Atlanta today and decided to go to the mall since there really aren’t many good ones where I live. Anyway, I walked past a display in the were middle of the mall and there where all these Christian t-shirts. They were making a play on themes such as MySpace, YouTube, ITunes, Abercrombie and Fitch, The Army , Reeses, Starbucks, etc. My concern is that we have reduced Christianity to cliches and advertisements on t-shirts. While I have no objections to the t-shirts, I am afraid that we have forgotten what is holy  and reverent. Are we really getting across the true message of Christianity? There are so  many people banking their eternity on the fact that at some point in their life, they prayed a prayer. While salvation can be that simple, it is more than just praying a prayer. After we pray a pray a prayer of forgiveness, we must then walk out our faith. The book of James is very clear about all this. When someone truly has an encounter with God, it is a life changing experience. When Moses encountered God in the burning bush, he became the leader of Israel that led them out of Egypt. When he encountered God on Mt. Sinai, he came down with the Ten Commandments. There are countless numbers of people who had encounters with God and their lives were changed. Have our lives been changed by our encounters with God? Have we had an encounter with God that was life changing? It is time that we walk out our faith and let our encounters with God change our lives.

4 responses

  1. I agree with you; encountering God = a life changing experience. I think it’s safe to say that people encounter God in different ways. God makes Himself available to people through different mediums–mediums that are specific to the individual God is reaching out to in that particular moment.

    I absolutely agree about having reverential fear of God and knowing what is holy and reverent vs. what is not but I also think that in a day and age where unfortunately Myspace, Facebook etc are so commonplace to the younger generation, we need to have a way to speak to them. If it won’t be God speaking through those mediums, it’ll be Satan, no in between as we know from the Word.

    I don’t know if that makes sense or not but it does in my head 🙂 I believe my life was changed dramatically and I am claiming that it will continue to change; that God will continue to blow my mind away with His grace and mercy and goodness.

    Have a blessed evening and thank you for sharing!

    May 10, 2008 at 6:02 am

  2. How did i make it onto your blogroll? 🙂 Thank you for that.

    I understand your concern about the T-Shirts.

    I look at it this way… WE cannot know what will be the first thing that brings someone the Word. If it is a smile from a T-Shirt that leads someone to question and to seek their own answers, or to remember or see things about Him from their past in a new and ‘awakening’ light then it is a Glory to Him.

    If all we see is that those shirts belittle or denigrate Him and His Word we don’t truly understand our fellow man. ( or perhaps our own self fully?)

    Someone will always be on the lookout to make a fast buck in the world – we need not be overly concerned with them – God is Greater than Those.

    And i did not mean that to sound condescending to anyone. 🙂

    <B

    May 11, 2008 at 1:55 am

  3. Amen! An Encounter with GOd is life changing, and creates a hunger for more…sad that some are missing it and thinking that they can say a prayer and be unchanged and have somekind of fire insurance…Been studying on this for a couple years, and I don’t have all the answers, but I know I want to stay close to my Lord, and continue to grow in my faith. Have a great day!

    May 11, 2008 at 11:25 am

  4. ramsey72

    lovewillbringustogether-I found your blog through Mandy’s and I so I added you.
    I completely understand where you are coming from. There are several ways to look at this. I agree that it is a great evangelism tool…to get your foot in the door so to speak. After all, we do have to be relevant in the generation in which we are living and those are things that kids connect with.
    I was talking about people who have practically grown up in church and the fact that alot of times, they have nothing more to show for Christianity than the clique on their t-shirt.
    Thanks for sharing your point of view…..It is good for us to be challenged to look at all viewpoints and not just our own.

    May 11, 2008 at 6:00 pm

Leave a Reply

