My Confident Hope

Wedding Bells and Baby Bottles

Tonight, I got a phone call from one of my good friends. She was excitedly talking about her wedding that is planned for December 30, and she wanted to make sure that I knew this when making my holiday plans so I would be in town for her wedding. I told her I would be here and I wouldn’t miss it  for the world. I am excited for her. Then she hits me up for the REAL reason for the phone call. She needs my help next weekend to do a babyshower for another friend of ours. Again, I am glad to be able to do this, although party planning is not usually my cup of tea. Especially decorating. I totally suck at decorating. But I do have fun wherever I go.

Anyway, the point of this post. While I am totally happy for my my friend’s upcoming wedding and baby, it leaves me a little confused. There is this  part of me that is going “hello, God, its me, Angela, have you forgotten about me down here in south Georgia?” I know that God has  a plan for me and maybe it is not getting married and having a family, although it is something that I would like to have someday. Lately, I have tried not to focus on what I don’t have but on the opportunities that I am given to live each day to its fullest. I guess it is times like this that hit me kind of hard. It is difficult in today’s society to be single. There is such a stigma if you are not married. It seems to be worse where I live now. It really isn’t about getting married. if that were my goal, I am sure I could have been married by now, but that is not the goal. I want to marry the one that God has for me. It is not always easy but I know that God will give me the desires of my heart. Right now my desire is to live for God and be what He wants me to be.

One response

  1. I have a friend from Church who you sound just like…she all together gave up on the possiblity of getting married, and even felt too old to start something new…and she just got married..

    God has the perfect one for you, and anything else would just rip you off from HIS awesome gift. You do have spiritual children, younger ones who are looking and watching your walk with the Lord. I think you are awesome! love you!

    May 26, 2008 at 4:02 pm

Leave a Reply

