My Confident Hope

He’ll make A Way

I just about wrecked my car this morning when I saw that gas was now $4.09 in the city where I lived. My first reaction was to panic after all I drive about 80-100 miles a day back and forth to work and other places that I need to go. I have cut back everywhere I can cut back short of eating Ramen noodles every meal. My second response was to try and devise a plan to fix this. Maybe I could convince my job to let me work 4 days a week. Then I came back to my senses and realized that although it feels like a crisis to me, it is not a crisis to God. After all, He owns it all. Then a song that I had learned as a child came to my mind. It took me a minute to remember all the words after all it has been over 25 years since I sang the song. The song was “He Owns The Cattle on A Thousand Hills”.

He owns the cattle on a thousand hills,
The wealth in every mine;
He owns the rivers and the rocks and rills,
The sun and stars that shine.
Wonderful riches, more than tongue can tell –
He is my Father so they’re mine as well;
He owns the cattle on a thousand hills –
I know that He will care for me.

I had turned my radio down so I could recall the words and when I turned it back up, the next song on my shuffle was “He’ll Make a Way” by Clint Brown

If I trust the Lord, He’ll make a way for me

For I know in Him I got the victory.

He will provide, He will supply

If I trust and obey, He’ll make a way.

I realized that this situation is totally out of my control and I just have to trust the Lord to take care of it. He said that He would supply all our needs according to His riches in glory.

2 responses

  1. Nice post. I often think that if He can still the raging wind and rain, the Master of ocean and earth and sky can surely help me.

    June 9, 2008 at 8:48 pm

  2. Our GOd doesn’t run out of money! YAY! I am going through this same thing..and knowing that I just need to lean harder and trust more, that HE does not abandon us, and HE always provides! Love you!!

    June 15, 2008 at 10:57 am

Leave a Reply

