My Confident Hope

Divine Encounters

Apparently TS Fay is not the only headline in the news this week. In Christian circles, the word has spread about worship leaders fabricating they had cancer to promote a song, and a key figure in the Lakeland Revials was recently found to have had an “unhealthy relationship” with a female staff memeber. There was a time in my life when I would have become judgmental over information like this. Then there was a time when I would have been cynical about the deal. So, where am I now with all this information? Humbled…….while it is disturbing to me, I am humbled because “for the grace of God, there go I.” While my sin my noe Holy God and fractures relationships. I am not anyone special. I believe that whether you stand before thousands and preach or to lead worship, or stand in a church of 50, it is our responsibility to ensure that we walk worthy of our calling. We are all flawed vessels that God has chosen to pour Himself into too. We are full of cracks and some of us a little more broken than others, but God has made us worthy.

What is resonating with me at this moment, is how easy it is to counterfeit the presence of God. Most of the time what people call the presence of God is just emotions. Emotions fade and when the rubber meets the road it has not made any difference in the way we live our lives. Throughout the Bible, those who had a true encounter with God were never the same again. Look at Abraham, Moses, Jacob, and Gideon. They had an encounter with God and went on to be great men of God. The really cool thing, is that they still made mistakes but God continued to use them.I want my life to be truly changed by the presence of God. It is a daily process. The more time that I spend getting to know who God is and what He is doing in and through me, the more I see myself becoming the person that God has created me to be.

My desire today is to know God and experience Him in a way that I never had before.

One response

  1. “What is resonating with me at this moment, is how easy it is to counterfeit the presence of God. Most of the time what people call the presence of God is just emotions. Emotions fade and when the rubber meets the road it has not made any difference in the way we live our lives.”

    I love this…its SOOOO true!

    August 26, 2008 at 3:36 pm

Leave a Reply

