My Confident Hope

Billy the Goat

Disclaimer****This post is in no way meant to be presented in poor taste or bad humor. The point of the story is that sometimes things require a simple answer. And if nothing else that day, I made a child,  whose life has been traumatized by abuse laugh. Maybe when she walks by that animal pen and sees the goat, she will remember our conversation and it makes her laugh. I truly believe that laughter is the best medicine!!

Walking back to the cottage with one of the girls that I work with, we passed the animal pen that is home to Romeo the donkey, Molly and Maggie, the female goats, and Billy the male goat. As we walked by Billy was standing near the fence contentedly eating his grass. The child then began to ask me a series of questions and the conversation went something like this

Child: “Is the goat gay?”

Me: ” I don’t think animals have a sexual preference”

Child: “Is it a morphadite?” (Let me interject here……I think she was meaning hermapodite but I really didn’t want to correct her and then have to explain what that was so here was my brilliant answer……)

Me: No, it’s just a goat with really big balls!

We laughed all the way back to the cottage and crude……well maybe, but it brightened the day of a little girl trying to make sense of a cruel world and made her forget her pain if only for a brief moment.

Billy the Goat

Billy the Goat

One response

  1. oh my…
    you had a great answer.
    🙂
    and I’m glad you were able to make her laugh for that brief second.

    September 4, 2008 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

