My Confident Hope

Mammas don’t let your babies grow up to be…….truckdrivers????

When you ask children what they want to be when they grow up, you generally get answers like a doctor, lawyer, nurse, teacher, maybe a preacher, or missionary. Not me, I had my sights set much higher. I can remember being about 4 years old and when people asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, well I emphatically told them that I wanted to be a truck driver. Now I have no idea where the idea of becoming a truck driver came from. I just knew I had my cowboy boots, which I wore with my gym shorts and t-shirt and I thought I was the bomb diggity. After a while, I didn’t even wait for people to ask me, I let them know that I was going to be a truck driver and I had the boots to prove it! My mother must have had one heck of a prayer life. She had to with a child like me. Luckily for my mother, I grew out of my truck driver stage and went on to college to study to be a teacher. Although sometimes after a stressful day at work I wonder if I missed my real calling after all!

this was me about the time of my truck driving phase

this was me about the time of my truck driving phase

2 responses

  1. charity

    what a familiar face!

    September 10, 2008 at 7:32 pm

  2. I LOL’d with this post, and had to share it with Jeff. You were a hoot hey?!?! so cute.

    There were three things I wanted to be. can you guess what they were? I’ll give you a hint: 2 of them start with an M and the other with a B.

    So you are a Teacher then? What do you teach?

    September 11, 2008 at 4:25 am

Leave a Reply

