My Confident Hope

Remembering September 11

Seven years ago today, the world as we knew it change forever. For only the second time in American History after the Civil War of course, was there an attack on American soil. And like the good, patriotic Americans that we are, we were royally ticked off that someone would dare attack us. The events of that day are forever etched into my memory. I will never forget where I was and what I was doing. I was at work that day, trying to get my group of girls to school. I walked into the supervisor’s office just in time to see the second plane hit the twin towers.I remember that we were glued to the television the rest of the day. It all seemed so unrealistic. It was like I was watching a movie, but it wasn’t over in two hours with some hero coming in to save the day. The reality was, the heroes were everyday people who stepped up when it counted the most. While they say that time heals all wounds, the wounds of 9/11 seem distant at times but it is important that we never forget what happened that day and we never forget the people who gave their lives for freedom. Here is a tribute video with a song by Alan Jackson..

Do you remember where you were on 9/11?

One response

  1. yup I remember where I was…for some reason i was actually watching the news when it happened, don’t know why since it was rather earlier in the morning and I am NOT a morning person, so it was odd I was even awake to see it LIVE!

    and I live in Canada, but real close to the border (from where I’m sitting right now, it’s 5 mins away), so some Canadians feel real close to the Americans.

    September 13, 2008 at 11:16 pm

Leave a Reply

