My Confident Hope

La Cucaracha

Last week some friends and I met to eat dinner at one of our favorite mexican restaurants. I got there late because I had to deal with some children before I could go. The waitress brought our food and set it on the table and before we could eat, one of my friends very calmly said there was a roach on our table. At that point we jumped up and scrambled. One of my friends jumped on top of the booth and finally Lindsay decided to kill the roach. We all just stood there looking at each other trying to decide what to do. We were starving so we decided to move to another table. We managed to eat our food and later laughed about it. The thing is, roaches or palmetto bugs as they are sometimes called, are very common around these parts. Most people associate roaches with filth but down here, they show up in the most immaculate of places. I guess that is why we were not so hard on the manager. He did cut us a break so it ended up all good. Plus I got to spend time with some of my most favorite people in the world!

4 responses

  1. Carol

    You know that I would have been out of there!

    October 16, 2008 at 11:59 pm

  2. Ha ha! I thought about that as we were moving tables! It doesn’t matter how much you spray or what you do they still manage to find a way to appear.

    October 17, 2008 at 1:52 am

  3. yikes and grose all at the same time! I’m not sure we would have been as easy on the Manager if it were found in a Restaurant here.

    October 19, 2008 at 4:12 am

  4. ew
    ew
    ew
    ew
    ew

    Roaches – that’s one thing I DON’T miss about the south. We don’t have roaches up here. And what they call a swarm of mosquitoes is a JOKE! 🙂
    Sand gnats = NONE
    Horseflies = NONE

    life. is. good.

    October 22, 2008 at 4:15 pm

Leave a Reply

