My Confident Hope

Go Greyhound and Leave the Driving To Us

I took a trip today on a Greyhound Bus. It was the first time I have ever taken a bus trip. It was not normally something I would do,  but I had to make an impromptu trip to North Carolina. I was not sure what or who I would encounter on this trip, but I decided to be intentional about being aware of what was going on around me. I have a tendency to be in my own world. The first person I met was at the bus station in Hinesville. This guy was a truck driver that had been in an accident the day before when a tire blew out while driving down I-95. He was on medication so he could not drive home. I had an interesting conversation with him but he changed buses in Savannah. We made a stop in Beaufort, SC and there were several released prisoners who got on the bus. We stopped for lunch at McDonalds in Walterboro, SC and one of the guys asked me for a dollar which I gave him. He had just gotten out of jail and had been there 18 months. He was going to Philiadelphia. I then met a woman who had gotten out of jail yesterday in Florida and was on her way to West Virginia where her 3 kids were staying with her mother. We talked off and on during the trip. I realized that I have been so blessed in my life. Here I was riding a bus to go pick up a new car and while this woman was just trying to get back to her children whom she had not seen in a year. It was then that I felt a prompting to give the woman what cash I had with me which was only $10. She had been on the bus for a day already and still had 24 hours to go and I doubted that she had any money with her. As we got ready to get off the bus in Charlotte, I reached back and handed her the money. She looked at it with a shocked look on her face but graciously thanked me for it. I wished her safe travels and for God to bless her. I know I will probably never see that lady again but for a moment, God used me to be a blessing to someone else. It is so easy sometimes to look our noses down at people and think we are better than them, but for the grace of God, there go I.

3 responses

  1. “There go I.” yes ma’am yes ma’am.

    So. Are there bathrooms on these buses? I’ve always wondered.

    November 6, 2008 at 8:38 pm

  2. Yeah….there are bathrooms but they are like porta potties……disgusting!

    November 6, 2008 at 10:52 pm

  3. isn’t that interesting how just taking those tiny steps outside of our comfort zone can give us such excitement and such a great post to write.

    November 7, 2008 at 3:54 am

Leave a Reply

