My Confident Hope

The Greatest Generation

I had the opportunity on Sunday to go up and visit my grandmother before heading back south. When I got there, they were eating lunch so I had a seat in an empty wheelchair and chatted with my grandmother and the other lady that were sitting at her table. During a lull in the conversation, I looked around and realized that these part of the remnant of people who have been dubbed “The Greatest Generation”. I thought back on the historical moments that have witnessed and been apart of. These were the people who grew up in the Depression, Fought in World War II, witnessed both attacks on American soil at Pearl Harbor and the Twin Towers. They’ve lived through the Korean War, Vietnam War, the Cold War, and both Gulf Wars. They had front row seats to the assinations of JFK, RFK, and MLK. They were on the front lines of the racial riots and witnessed both segregation and then de-segragation. Now in the waning years of their lives, they have witnessed the first African-American to be elected to the highest position in the land…..President.

Then in the background, I heard popular music from the 30’s and 40’s and I flash forwarded about 50 years and I was sitting in a nursing home, eating dinner and listening to Guns N’ Roses and Def Leppard!

Leave a Reply

