My Confident Hope

The Simplicity of the Gospel

I was having a conversation with our chaplain at work today.  She was saying how she was amazed at the spiritual bent that some of our kids display. She said she really wants to do a study on spirituality with special needs. I wondered at how much some of our kids really grasped and she proceded to put it into perspective for me. She referred to one of our kids who’s IQ falls between 40 and 50 and when asked to draw a picture, drew a picture of herself and very simply put God good. I laughed and said that maybe these kids have a better understanding of God than we do. As adults, we have a tendency to make everything so blooming complicated. Most of the time we are to intellectual for our own good.

I have to believe that the Gospel is just that simple. This child may not be able to count past ten or say her alphabet but she has grasped that God is good. I also have to believe that one day when we get to heaven we may see more special needs people than we do preachers or theologians. After all, Jesus said unless we become like a little child, we cannot inherit the Kingdom of Heaven.

3 responses

  1. I have some friends who are special needs young adults, and honestly they love and trust HIM more than I do…they inspire me to love with reckless abandon…I see Jesus in them..I have never met more faithful people than the special needs…if they love…nothing will change their mind about that love. Thier worship is never inhibited…I thank GOD for the ones I know, and think the world needs more of them, or we need to be more like them.. thanks Ramsey, this is awesome…!

    November 22, 2008 at 1:16 pm

  2. cornishevangelist

    For faith is believing in things that we cannot see. Now we must believe that what we have prayed for will soon manifest in our lives, for by faith we will truly receive.

    Yet some people say, “ but it’s not easy and you don’t know what I am going through,” well, that is true, but it still doesn’t change the fact that Jesus said, “ All things are possible to them that believe,” and we must live by faith.

    It is worth hoping and believing for things in our lives to change, it really does not matter what people say, or what we feel, for God said, “For the wisdom of this world is foolishness with God”. {1 Corinthians 3 v 19}. cornishevangelist. wordpress.com.

    November 22, 2008 at 7:08 pm

  3. you could be right there! that we will become children again in Heaven. wouldn’t that be fun!?!?!?!

    November 23, 2008 at 7:23 am

Leave a Reply

