My Confident Hope

Up in Smoke

Early this morning I was deep in sleep dreaming about being at the Zoo and Twittering about it (Note to self: No more twittering before bed!) I began to hear sirens and wasn’t sure if it was real or if I was dreaming. I woke myself up and saw flashing lights outside my window. The last time I heard sirens and saw flashing lights, the police were looking for someone in my yard. I scrounged around the floor by my bed for my glasses, because I can’t see anything without them and walked out on my porch. I stood there for a minute and looked around and realized that a house the next street over was on fire. I stood there and watched the flames and the smoke fill the sky. I heard the crackling of the fire and the shouts of people scrambling to put the fire out. At that moment my heart went out to these people who I didn’t even know. Here they were watching their life go up in smoke. I think that has to be the worst part about fires, it destroys everything. I went by the house this morning on my way to work and the house was almost completely destroyed. It looked like that the fire started in the back bedroom. Then again I am not a fire marshall but that is what it looked like driving by.

I thought about the things I would try to save if I ever experienced a fire but I have to honestly say at that moment the only thing I would try to save is myself! My heart goes out to people who experience any kind of loss or tradegy especially at the holidays.

3 responses

  1. yikes! That’s really too bad for the people that lived there, to experience this at Christmas time!?!?!? Grrr…not fun at all.

    December 2, 2008 at 4:18 pm

  2. Wow. Scary… But, what a great perspective moments like that can give us.

    My friend recently survived a near plane crash. Made me think really hard about all the flying I do… And if my life is in order.
    whew.

    So. No twittering before bed? haha

    December 2, 2008 at 6:37 pm

  3. Very tragic.

    My fathers family home burnt to the ground when he was a boy back in the 40’s. The thing he missed most was all the family photographs that could never be replaced.

    December 4, 2008 at 11:35 am

Leave a Reply

