My Confident Hope

It is better to receive than to give….really it is!!

We have grown up hearing the proverb “It is better to give than receive”. This is always a favorite of parents to use on their kids when they ask for something.  Now don’t get me wrong here, I love to give to other people. I find myself looking for opportunities to give to people whenever I can. It might be as small as some change for someone to get a Coke out of the machine at work, or it might be helping a friend that is a single mother.

I have come to realize though that giving and receiving is not always about material things. It is also about those intangible things that we often take for granted,like our time or our hearts.

I work in a field where I give alot each day. Alot more than I will ever get back in this lifetime. I don’t expect anything in return because for me, the reward is being able to make a difference in the life of a child and knowing that I am investing in the future. There are times when days are long and hard and you wonder if what you are doing makes any difference at all. I have found it is the simplest of things that remind me that I am. It can be as simple as a handdrawn card that says “I Love You” on it or a purple teddy bear that a kid bought at a Christmas store with bucks that he had earned being good. These are the moments that I have been blessed by being able to receive the simple gift that came from the bottom of their broken and scarred hearts, a gift that asks for nothing in return.A gift that I receive with a humble and grateful heart.

I am reminded in this holiday season, that God gave us a simple gift that came from the heart. A gift that asks for nothing in return. The gift of His Son, Jesus Christ. Let us not, in this season that often becomes hectic with the hustle and bustle of giving and receiving  forget this gift and if we have not, receive the gift that is the most important that we will ever receive. 018

One response

  1. Amy

    what a beautiful post!!!!! You are correct..what a wonderful gift we recieved

    December 12, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Leave a Reply

