My Confident Hope

21 Day Fast

Our church started a 21 day fast yesterday. We have been doing this for several years now. I find that it is a great way to start a new year. It helps to get me focused on God and what I want Him to do in my life over the next year. It also helps me get more disciplined with Bible reading and spending time with God. They say if you do something for 21 days then it becomes a habit.

There are many different reasons to fast as well as ways to fast. I have in years past done what is called the Daniel fast where you only can eat fruits and vegetables. This year I am doing something a little different. One of the things that I really want to focus on this year is being more healthy. When you live alone and are carry a pretty hectic schedule, it becomes easy to let good eating habits go down the drain. I eat way more fast food and junk food than I should and I am paying for it in my health. I realize that I am not getting any younger and I better get a hold of it before it is too late. I also have found out recently that my family is prone to certain food allergies, so I have decided to eliminate those foods that may be a potential food allergy for me. This includes wheat (gluten), dairy, sugar, processed foods, and eggs. I am going to stick to fruit, vegetables, nuts, and lean meat. I will also include brown rice . I have been drinking more herbal teas and cutting way back on coffee and diet drinks. I am trying to cut back on the amount of artificial sweetners that I use. Not sure that stuff is too good for you. I can drink tea unsweet or add a little honey if needed. I decided to go with this plan because it is something that I can stay with beyond the 21 days.

On the spiritual side, I have some very specific things that I am asking God to in my life as well as in the life of my friends, family, church, and work. I will not go into specifics here but maybe at some point share some things. I am listening to only Christian music and limiting the amount of tv that I watch also. I am trying to be more intentional about the way that I live my life, instead of just going through my day in a daze as I am prone to do.

I would greatly appreciate your prayers at this time as I seek to know what God wants for me in this season. If there is anything that you would like for me to pray for you about, then please feel free to email and let me know.

One response

  1. What a great way to focus and start a new year. I will keep you in my prayers.

    January 12, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Leave a Reply

