My Confident Hope

Stand Firm

I have to admit that 2009 has gone from 0 to 100 in about 2.5 seconds. It seems that I am getting hit on all sides somedays. In the past, I would have let these things get to me and end up in a funk. This time though, I have determined to do things differently. I am learning to cast all my anxieties on Him. Hey, after all that is what He told us to do, but some of us (especially me) are hard headed. Yeah, I get frustrated, lose my cool, but after awhile I come to my senses and after ask for forgiveness, I turn it over to God for Him to work out. That is difficult for me sometimes. I am not a control freak when it comes to other people. You can feel free to do what you want to do, but when it comes to me, I am the total control freak. I am slowly improving on this s I come to trust God more and more each day.

I have been participating in an online Bible study on a book called Pure Praise by Dwayne Moore. It is based on 2 Chronicles 20. The first time I read the whole passsage, this verse just jumped off the screen and smacked me up side the head. (By the way, YouVersion is a great way to study  the Bible. You can look up any passage in any version and you can highlight and make notes and even keep a journal)  The passage is 2 Chronicles 20:17 you will not need to fight in this battle. Stand firm, hold your position, and see the salvation of the Lord on your behalf, O Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid and do not be dismayed. Tomorrow go out against them, and the Lord will be with you.

WOW….what hit me was that so many times we are fighting battles when we should just be standing firm and holding our position.  I think alot of us are like Don Quixote thinking that every windmill is a dragon and we waste our energy fighting a battle that is not ours to fight. It is a ploy of the enemy to keep Christians tired, frustrated, and ineffective.I’m not sure why we think we can fight these battles better than God anyway. So, when I judged, misunderstood, or have my motives questioned; I just have to stand firm and let God fight that battle!


Leave a Reply

