My Confident Hope

Be Still

Being still is not the easiest thing in the world for me to do. Actually, I am rarely still…..there is always a foot or leg moving even when I am sitting down. I am not a still sleeper either…..I wake up most mornings with the covers halfway off the bed! Needless to say, I am not good at being still either when it comes to hearing from God.  That though was the word that keeps being spoken to me in this season. It is so easy during a difficult season to focus on our problems and even try to find ways to solve them ourselves. Not only that, but there are so many distractions, so many things competing for our attention.

Chapter 46 of Psalms opens up with David describing God is our strength and refuge and a very present help in trouble. He goes by saying no matter what happens, whether the mountains slip into the sea that God is still in the midst of us and we will not be moved. In verse 10 we are told to “be still and know that I am God.” Another translation says to “cease striving”. That is a difficult thing for me to do but I am learning that when I cease striving, then I can allow God to do what He needs to do to let me know that HE is God and that nothing goes unnoticed by Him and He will work everything out for my good and His glory.

Leave a Reply

